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Eventing Rules 
FAQ on application of Art. 549.2 

 
Art 549.2 - Run out - missing a flag 
A Horse is considered to have run out if, having been presented at an element 
or obstacle on the course, it avoids it in such a way that either the head, neck 
or either shoulder of the Horse fail to pass between the extremities of the 
element or obstacle as flagged.  
In case the Horse has clearly attempted to jump the element or obstacle and 
may have missed a flag, the athlete can choose: 

a) To represent or  
b) To continue on course incurring 50 penalties (no elimination) in case 

the element or obstacle was not correctly cleared. 

Note: If the Athlete represents and was clear in his first attempt, the Athlete will not 
be penalized with 20 penalties but no time will be removed. 

A Horse will be considered to have cleared the fence when head, neck and both 
shoulders of the Horse pass between the extremities of the element or obstacles as 
flagged. 

CLARIFICATION: 

1. Definition of the Shoulder: triangle made by the whole joint - elbow/shoulder/top 
of the scapula (not only the point). 

2. Evidence: Only Official video recording to be used as evidence. Officials will need to 
clarify before start of Cross Country and inform at chef d’équipe/rider meeting/briefing 
which video recording represent the official view, to avoid any misunderstanding. As per 
experience other recorded evidence can be photoshopped or tampered with 

 

 
 

Frequently asked question FEI Eventing Committee’s 
answer 

Q: How many penalties are issued to 
a combination who missed the flag at 
first attempt, chooses to retake, miss 

A: First attempt = 20 penalties 



 
Date of publication: 20 March 2017 
1st Update: 23 November 2017 
2nd Update 8 May 2018  
EVENTING 

 
 

2 
 

 

the flag again and decides to 
continue?  

Second attempt misses but continues 
= 50 

Total = 70 

Q: How many penalties should be 
awarded when a competitor misses a 
flag and then chooses to retake the 
option twice but misses again on the 
3rd attempt and then chooses to 
continue? 

A: The situation described would 
incur 110 penalties. No elimination as 
missing a flag and deciding to 
continue does not count as a runout. 

This is true also if happening at 
different fences on course. As an 
example, one runout at fence 3, one 
at fence 10 and missing a flag without 
representing at fence 15 would incur 
90 penalties and not an elimination. 

Q: Could a combination be penalized 
with 50pts several times on the 
course?  

A: Yes, that is correct as long as the 
horse clearly attempted to jump the 
fence 

Q: If a combination jumps fence 
between the flags and the athlete 
thinks out of flags and repeats fence 
is it an elimination or a penalty of 20 
penalties?  

A: This combination would not be 
penalised with 20 penalties but no 
time penalties would be removed. 

Q: Does the athlete still have the 
possibility to ask the fence judge if 
the horse jumped the fence between 
the flags? 

A: In relation to the introduction of 
this new rule, the possibility for the 
athlete to ask the fence judge has 
been removed. 

Q: How will it be judged if the horse 
is scored clear the first time, is 
represented and runs out on 
representation? 

A: The combination would get time 
penalties only. 

Q: How will it be judged if further to 
a refusal, a frangible device obstacle 
breaks? 

A: As the obstacle will have to be 
rebuilt as considered dangerous to 
jump in the current state – time to 
rebuild to be deducted from overall 
time of Cross Country. 

Penalties = 20 (refusal) + 11 pen 
(broken frangible) = 31 
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